top of page
  • Writer's picturerevianaircaayu

TEACHING PRACTICE



Procedures of Teaching

At first, I always check the students attendance before I start the class. And then, the next step is how could I make the students to give their attention for me. For example, in the beginning, usually I’ll ask the students to play a little game for make them enjoy in the learning, and then I will review the lesson to make sure the students understanding. After that, I will give some motivation to the students, like give them pictures or something interesting to make the students curiosity. And after that teacher will do question-answering until the students understand and they can guess topic of lesson. The students will not immediately be able to guess the topic of learning, so the teacher should be repeat the questions, but the questions is should be from the others objects. and I will ask to the students to give some others example, if they can give others example it indicates that they have begun to understand. In the learning process, I will give a rewards like give score, or say “very good” accourding to the situation. In the end of lesson, I give a worksheet as an evaluation. And sometimes, i will give the students assignment for homework.


Time Management and Organizing Activities

Every subject in PSU Integrated School-High School Department has 60 minutes of learning process. But maybe the teacher just have time around 45-50 minutes to learning process because PSU Integrated School-High School Department use moving class system. So, the students have to move from the one class to the other class and it’s can take about 10-15 minutes. It is makes the teacher quite challenged to manage the time, and also achieve the learning objective in the same time. My supervisor give me some tips how to control a class as follow:

1. If there are the students who are not paying attention teacher can:

  • give a question to certain students about the lesson today.

  • give them warning like when the teacher said “Hello”, the student should answer with “Hi” and so on.

2. When the teacher is writing on the board, teachers should not turn their backs on the students, so that teachers can write while paying attention to the students

3. Write on the board should be fast

4. Do not over give a score

5. Rules write on the board is write start from the left to the right


Problem-Solving

First time I’m teaching in the class, I'm very afraid because the students are very active, so i am afraid that i couldn’t make the students understand about the lesson when i teach. And the hardest time for me is when the first time I make Philippines lesson plan. But my supervisor very help me to solve my problem. She always guides me how to make the Philippines Lesson Plan and i am very thankful because of that. Besides that, i always believe to my self and i just say “ I can do it”, and it is working to me and increase to my spirit. In additional, my supervisor always evaluate me after I already teach, she always give me critics and advices to improve my teaching skill.


Classroom Management

The two classes of grade 9 in PSU Integrated School-High School Department have huge amount of the students. It’s around 40-50 students in a class. So, it’s quite challenge for the teacher to catch up the students attention regarding the topic. Therefore, to get the students attention, the teacher usually use a group discussion and some little game which can build the knowledge depend on the topic. Through this strategy, the students can give more focus and they will work together to achieve the leraning objectives.








11 views0 comments
bottom of page